Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Omo-Agege replaces Akpabio as Senate Minority Leader

Senator Saraki with Senator Omo-Agege...after the swearing-in

*Senator Yele Omogunwa dumps PDP for APC

By Sandra Onyekwere

Senate on Wednesday in Abuja replaced former Minority Leader, Godswill Akpabio with Labour Party Senator, Ovie Omo-Agege, as the latter led a walk out on the parliament. He has been sworn0in immediately.

Angered by the defection of one of them, the senators elected on the platform of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Wednesday, staged a walk out of plenary session.

They were apparently piqued by the defection of the Senator representing Ondo South Senatorial District, Senator Yele Omogunwa, to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Senator Yele APC
Omogunwa’s defection was formally announced at plenary by Senate President Bukola Saraki.

Senate Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio, raised a point of order to the effect that Senator Omogunwa’s seat should be declared vacant.

Akpabio was however, ruled out of order by the Senate President, a development that prompted the opposition senators to stage a walk out of plenary.

As at press time, Senator Akpabio, flanked by other Minority Principal Officers was addressing the press on the development.

Shortly before the 26th November governorship election in Ondo, the Senator joined some PDP big wigs in the state like former House of Representatives member, Otunba Gbenga Elegbeleye to dump the PDP.

Ondo state will now be controlled by the APC from February 2017, when the outgoing Governor, Olusegun Mimiko, is expected to hand over.

Political pundits opine that more PDP Senators may defect to APC in weeks to come meaning that the PDP Senators may have so many other walk out protests to make.

No comments:

Post a Comment